Tudor Academy

Gonville Academy
Gonville Road

0208 684 4006


Strategic Governing Body

Strategic Governing Body

Inspiring Excellence for All

STEP Governance

The name STEP, an acronym, reflects the aspirational nature of the organisation – Striving Together for Excellence in Partnership. Inspired by the commitment to improve children’s life chances, STEP Academies work together to provide high quality learning experiences for all their pupils.

STEP Governors

“STEP First” is the notion that, first and foremost, everyone is committed to being part of The STEP Academy Trust. All governors must be fully aligned to the Trust’s Mission and Vision. Although serving one or more particular Academies, governors are members of the wider STEP team. We are all one team, in one organisation, working towards the same goal: to be outstanding in all we do – STEP First!

STEP Governance Structure

Recent changes introduced by the Department for Education (DfE) allow academy trusts to establish a local governing body that is responsible for two or more academies.

Composition of the Strategic Governing Bodies (SGB)

The new Strategic Governing Bodies will have a maximum of 12 Governors as follows:

  • Parent x2 (elected, ideally one from each Academy)
  • Staff x2 (Headteachers)
  • Staff x2 (elected, ideally one from each Academy)
  • Board of Trustees Representative x1
  • STEP Governors x5
  • Temporary Co-Opted Governors (according to need)

It is the belief of the Board of Trustees that this new governance structure, underpinned by sound principles, will make best use of our strengths, will address our challenges and will provide the framework for each of our Academies to become Outstanding at the next opportunity.

Our Governing Body


Mark Riddaway (Chair), Selina Boshorin (Vice Chair), Karen Harrison (Staff Governor TA), Fay Milward (Staff Governor AA), Sarah Lippett (Parent Governor), Christopher Mullan (Co-opted Governor), Eileen Riley (Co-opted Governor), Marcel Rizza (Co-opted Governor), Benjamin Vertannes (Co-opted Governor), John Halliwell (Executive Headteacher AA & TA ), Claire Majumdar (Headteacher TA), Samantha Daly (Head of School AA), Nadine Bernard (Head of School TA), Isobel Miskelly (Head of School TA), Nicki Gillespie (SBM AA & TA) and Lynn Bruce (Governance Clerk).

Tudor Academy